Tuesday, April 8, 2014

The Photoshop Portrait Assignment

Continue to work on your Portrait. Each time you try one of the following experiments, save the image "SAVE AS" so that you preserve the previous version. Gather them in one file, then paste the file in the Photo 9/10 Share folder, paste/post best your top 4 into your journal.

  1. Touch-up the Photo- Correct the contrast and exposure: Image>Adjustments>Levels (or Exposure). Try the spot healing brush, clone stamp, (you need to alt copy the area you want to take the tone from) or copy color and air brush with low opacity.
  2. Double Exposure- try selecting an area with the "Lasso" or the "Square Marquee" from the same or another image and Copy>Paste. You can use the Eraser to touch up. OR Try the Rubber Stamp Tool, but consider copying it onto a different layer.
  3. Dodge and Burn- either use the Burn Tool to darken a light area, or use the Dodge Tool to lighten a dark area. Or try a vignette where you use the Elliptical Marquee tool to select the area to select the area around the image Select>Inverse (To Feather the edge type a # in the option bar at the top), then try burning the edges with a Burn Tool or Image>Adjust>Levels.
  4. Contact Negative- Image>Adjustments>Invert. Try Levels to enhance.
  5. Solarize- Filter> Render>Solarize. Again you could adjust the darkness and contrast with Levels.
  6. An Experiment- ...? Your choice, play around!
  7. Selective Colour- Using Adjustment layers and masking techniques, or Image>Adjustment> Variations. 
  8. Add a Texture Layer- Open a file with a similar file size as the one that you are working on. Then >SELECT>ALL> COPY and the >PASTE into your portrait, use the layer mode to select and overlay mode to combine the texture with your portriat.
  9. Try 3 Combinations use layers, opacity, Filters and Image Adjustments.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Photoshop Portraits

Selectively Colour
  • Open a portrait that you took, or one of you.
  • Add a new layer LAYER>NEW LAYER
  • Selectively colour an area of your image. Select a color on the FOREGROUND COLOR palette and use the ELIPSE tool on the tool bar to draw in your color, then LAYER> RASTERIZE>SHAPE
  • Soften the edges FILTER> GAUSSIAN BLUR so the edges are soft (if you are tinting the eyes).
  • Blend the colour into the portrait CHOOSE OVERLAY on the LAYER window on the colour layer.
Add Texture to Your Image
  • Find a Texture using Google, save to your file
  • Then in Photoshop, FILE>OPEN the textures image that you want to use for your texture.
  • SELECT> ALL
  • EDIT>COPY
  • Go to your portrait file EDIT>PASTE
  • Blend the texture into the portrait CHOOSE OVERLAY on the LAYER window on the texture layer.
Saving your image as a JPG
  • First FILE>SAVE your image as a PSD file. Then
  • LAYER>FLATTEN to combine all layers into one.
  • FILE>SAVE  AS select JPG in the "FILE TYPE" selection box.
  • Call it something new.
  • Upload it to your blog...

Monday, March 3, 2014

2nd Place Composition Photos- Comfort Zone

Now that you have photographed your 2nd Place composition photos:
  1. Download the 2nd place images from your camera to your student account. To organize your work, create a new folder for these photos title it 2nd Place or Composition.
  2. Then make a contact sheet using "Adobe Bridge" see tutorial on this blog title the 5 different techniques that guided your compositions. Save to the Share folder titled with your name.
  3. Post the top 5 best photos one of each technique to your blog.
  4. Comment on your 2nd Place, Comfort Zone: Why did you choose this place? Why did you photograph it in the way you did? What did you include, or exclude? Are you in the photos? Why or why not?
  5. Post your favourite images to the share folder to share with the class.

Friday, February 28, 2014

9 Shutter Assignment


What is Shutter Speed?
Shutter speed is ‘the amount of time that the shutter is open’.







The Assignment- Click Here: Shutter Speed Project Criteria You are to take a series of photographs where you capture movement with your camera by controlling the shutter. You are to try 6 different shutter speed techniques:
  1. Blur movement.
  2. Freeze frame movement.
  3. Panning fast- blur background, clear movement.
  4. Panning slow- blur background, blur movement.
  5. Subject Clear, blur movement
  6. Experiment


Make a contact sheet of 25 shutter photos (try several shots for each experiment) and label them. Post your best shutter images (one from each experiment) and label then and add to your blog.

For more information about shutter speeds, visit the Digital Photography School site.


Monday, February 17, 2014

2nd Place Composition Assignment

Alfred Eisenstadt
Next you are to take their own images in a place that your feel most at home/comfortable
  • Photo 9 Using the 5 emphasis techniques to draw attention to the main idea in the composition. 
  • Photo10 incorporating minimum of 5 breaking the rules of composition techniques to make your images more visually striking and eye catching.
  • Focus on one technique per photo.
  • Try at least 3 different frames per technique for a total of a minimum of 15 frames. 
  • We will put all of the images together in a contact sheet. (9s I will show you how).
  • Post your top five best (one of each technique) to your blog, identify the technique.
By Eisensta

Friday, February 7, 2014

Downloading Photos

Today we are going to download the photos that we took on our first class.


  • You will need the camera, a USB cord, or card reader and then connect the camera to the computer.
  • When it is connecting, the computer will communicate that it is connecting  with the camera. Don't have it import all photos on the camera. We are going to open the camera file and import only the photos that you took.
  • Save them/drag them into your folder.
  • Rename your photos of you and then give the camera to your team.
  • Select your 1 favourite photo and save it to the share folder.
  • Post your favourite to your blog.
  • Comment why you chose this space and it is your favourite photo.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Photoshop Cartoon Vector Effect Steps

1. Open your image (CTRL + O)
2. Double click on the lock, to unlock the layer
3. Rename it to “Original”. Click OK
4. Duplicate original layer (right click)
5. Double click on the text “Original copy” then rename it to “sketch”
6. Click the eye icon next to “Original” layer to make it invisible
7. Click on paint palette, change foreground to black. Click OK
8. FILTER > SKETCH > STAMP
9. Zoom out to get a better view using (+) (-) icons on bottom left
10. Adjust light/dark balance and smoothness until you are satisfied with the amount of detail and sharpness in your image. Click OK

*NOW YOU HAVE A SKETCHED BLACK & WHITE VERSION OF YOUR PHOTO*
NEXT STEP IS TO COLOUR YOUR IMAGE
11. Highlight “Original” layer, click eye icon to make visible
12. Make “Sketch” layer invisible by clicking eye icon next to it
13. Select eye dropper tool CTRL + I
14. Click on skin to sample colour
15. Reverse visible layers by clicking the eye icons so that the original is invisible and the sketch layer is visible
16. Select brush tool CTRL + B
17. Create new layer, should be above “sketch” layer.

*SHOULD BE PAINTING ON THE NEW LAYER*

18. Click and hold to brush, all over face, ears, neck. Avoid lips Eyes. Don’t worry about mistakes, excess can be easily erased later
19. Change blending mode to MULTIPLY under layers tab
20. Select eraser tool, select hard brush, erase excess parts of airbrush
21. When finished, right click on layer we just airbrushed and click “Merge Down” (this will merge it into sketch layer below it)

NOW YOU HAVE A SKIN COLOURED VERSION OF YOUR CARTOON

NEXT STEPS ARE TO COLOUR IN LIPS AND EYES
22. Reverse visible layers again using eye icon to make original photo visible and everything else invisible
23. Select eyedropper tool and select colour from lips.
24. Select brush tool: CTRL +B
25. Reverse visible layers using eye icons
26. Create new layer, should be above “sketch” layer.

YOU SHOULD BE PAINTING ON THE NEW LAYER

27. Paint over lips
28. Change blend mode to MULTIPLY in layers palette
29. Right click on layer 1 and merge down
REPEAT ABOVE STEPS FOR EYE COLOUR

Source: Tutorial